New Portfolio.. Thoughts, anyone?

I’m looking for a new internship this winter, as well as feedback on my portfolio.

You can find my portfolio at:
www.uc.edu/propractice/ind_design/Edgemon_Jenna_10.pdf[/url]

I am a forth year ID student at the University of Cincinnati. My last internship was with Priority Designs, and I have experience with them designing bags, home appliances, and electronics.

Link doesn’t work.

Get rid of the car vacuum - it brings the rest of the portfolio down. The other work is much stronger and at 23 pages it wont hurt to cut a few of the weaker ones.

You’ve got some nice sketches coming along in there too.

I disagree. There are only 4 projects in your portfolio. Cutting one out would make it very short. Also there are sketches in here but not that many. I would like to see you really show us how you got to your design. What were your influences? Did you do any consumer research?

You have almost done this with your Mini influenced vacuum, but I don’t really get what is “Mini” about that vacuum. A way to tell us this is to show us what elements you took out of the styling of the car and applied it to your design. This is the same with the kids toy. Show us what it was that made you come to the design that you are showing us.

Another critique that I would give you is that the layout has no real pop to it. It is very simple, which in some cases is not a bad thing, but there is nothing that makes it memorable. You need to think of your folio as a design project. It needs to flow while also leaving an impression with the employer. Take a look at some of the portfolios here on coroflot. If you look at some of the more seasoned designers you will see that they design their portfolio simple but informative.

Sorry to pick your portfolio apart. I think you have some good work and with a bit of rearranging and bit more communication you will have a great portfolio.

23 pages it wont hurt to cut a few of the weaker ones.