New kid in industrial design field

Can anybody help me with my problems?I need someone to guide me through this crisis.! I’ve just found out that i really love to study about industrial design but it seems to be too late for me to realize about this point.I have no experience or relevance background education that can support me for further education in this field.I wish to attend a graduate program in Industrial design but i don’t know where can i go for it.Everywhere require me to have a portfolio or degree that can support me.I do love design a lot and i believe that i have a potential to go for it but i just don’t know where can i apply for or start with it.

Anybody know anything about Art Institution in Seattle.Some of my friends suggest me to go there but i have no idea whether it’s good or not?

Please please anybody help me and give me some suggestion. Thank you

Edit

You don’t need a degree to get an ID job, it just helps more. Just ask my current boss, he only has a high school diploma and is now the creative director. I would also caution you about thinking graduate school is the answer, at a lot of schools graduate programs are more about helping you refine the skills you already have and are not interested in teaching you the fundamentals.

That said some will teach you everything, IIT in Chicago for example has people from all different backgrounds. Just make sure you find the right one. Shoot an email to Niti Bhan, she knows whats up.

I actually went to KU for undergrad and although it is a good school it has a heavy tilt on design research and not so much on doing actual product design, at least thats how I always felt about it. So the lesson is to do your research and ask around.

You might also be able to find some small shops that need help building things and not designing. But the experience of being involved in the process will teach you a lot about design and will help you steer your career in that direction.

Edit