need some advice and direction ( education, software, life )

howdy ho
so i’m a little lost here and i need a few words of advice.
i graduated with a BFA in sculpture last may, which took me six lovely but long years. now i live in wonderful western massachusetts and wash dishes at one of the colleges around here. i still make art, but i’ve decided about 4 months ago that i’ll start working towards becoming a product designer ( and I will probably lean towards furniture, lighting and household items ) i love functional objects, i’ve always walked the line between art and craft, and i can’t take the guilt of making beautiful things that serve no purpose.
so here is the dilemma:
i refuse to go back to school unless it’s grad school, and i understand that i’ve got a long way to go before that happens. what i need is a little help with the steps in between

here is the plan right now:

1. Get some drafting software running on my computer ( I have a Mac, what should i get ? I was thinking Parallels + Autocad? Or should I use Bootcamp? Any better ideas? )
  2. Get my hands on some good books. I’m a great book-learner. Please recommend. Donald Norman, Richard Powell?
  3. Start some projects? I’ve been sketching ideas, but i’m really all-over-the-place. What are some typical beginner projects?
  4. ??? OK what now ? I’m thinking find a design firm and beg to be their b*tch, but that almost seems counterproductive… And then what? Has anyone actually made it that way? Do you know people in the field that have an education in art but work in design? Am I being silly?

sigh

One thing that would probably help us help you would be to post up some of your work. When I went into design I was considering sculpture so I have some hope for you here.