Need help with MFA GD choices...

I just got into SVA and RISD for an MFA in Graphic Design and I’m having a hard time deciding between the two. I’m interested in both schools respective strengths (commercial vs. academic), but does one outweigh the other? I’ve been living in NYC for some time now so location isn’t necessarily the biggest factor for me. Any insight would be great!

Checked out your portfolio, some really beautiful stuff. I’m not sure what you are looking to learn in grad school? Maybe determining that will help you decide what program…if any?

apart from a couple of classes I took at an aas program, I’m pretty much self taught. i think what i’m really looking for in an mfa program is to get more context/background to the stuff i do and really get some focus to the work i do.

Makes sense. RISD is great when it comes to stuff like that. I have some friends that went through the undergrad program in graphics. It is a very rigorous program that teaches you how to do things old school, by hand, and then lets you apply that to digital mediums. I think the graphics program there produces designers that are extremely thoughtful in their treatment of form and information. At least that is the way it was when I was there.

I’m not too familiar with SVA.

You want more context/background and focus.
Doesn’t sound like you need to write a thesis to reach your goals, in fact it may divert attention -unless you plan your research carefully. Grad school is not just more undergrad classes, be certain of what your responsibilities are, like how many credit hours will you be expected to teach…

HI,