Need help picking a design laptop

Hello everyone. I am an Industrial Design sophomore and I am going to get a laptop before school starts up again this fall. I don’t want to rehash the whole Mac vs. PC thing as I plan to play some games on the side and am getting a PC for that. My question is how powerful of a laptop would I need to be able to do design work on through my senior year? So far I’ve just stuck with the Adobe Creative Suite, but I’m going to do some 3d work next semester, and who knows what after that. It doesn’t necessarily need to be top of the line unless that is what I need for CAD programs. Any tips at all in this area will be appreciated.

I bought a Dell XPS, dont get one. It breaks constantly and almost cost me a job…you get what you pay for, buy a mac. Just use the windows side for your 3D stuff.

From what I’ve seen, most of the ones out today are strong enough with dual processors, etc…
The big thing I’ve seen is that you want to get one with a dedicated video card, nvidia is popular. And of course you want extra ram, most of the cheaper laptops will have the bare minimum and that won’t be enough. Try to upgrade to 3 or 4gb ram.

Ditto Skinny’s post. Mac or PC for that matter.

I got a lenovo x61 tablet…and ive been sketching digital since. Good for cutting down on paper and rendering quickly, and Im sure you can get it to run rhino without a problem.

i have a 13 aluminium macbook (now called macbook pro, and cheaper than when i got is…)

does the job well for me. runs CS4 fine as well as SW and games on the windows partition. as an ID student you will love it for the external design and the integration between software and hardware.