Need Advice!

Long story short I’m going back to school and would like to try Industrial Design. In the next year or so I will be taking my basics, but in the mean while I wanted to get some experience under my belt before going in the program (don’t want to look like a complete newbie). I would like to know what you would recommend me working on for right now to sharpen my skills. Maybe taking a sketching class? Also are there any software you would recommend me getting familiar with before going in? I see photoshop and illustrator are big on this board. Please help me out. I would like to hear from people still attending school and the already PROS!!! Thanks in advance!

Sketching is always the most difficult skill for new comers. What is your current level?

A sketching class is always good, but it’s like learning guitar. 10% you learn in class, 90% is practice. It would be great if you could give yourself a target and stick with it. Like sketch an hour, 5 nights a week.

Especially if you are a novice, tracing helps a lot! It sounds like cheating, but if you trace 100 excellent sketches, you will learn how to sketch well. Just the act of moving the same way somehow stays in your head when you sketch on a blank sheet.

yes yes, sketching is important. needs to be learned and all that. I absolutely agree.
But the unproportional emphasis on sketching on these boards is aggravating.
I would like to stress that it doesn’t hurt to actually sketch something you thought about. Your design. How you figure it out.

design is not just about pen and paper (even if it sounds like that here all the time).
It is a way of thinking, looking at the world and connecting dots.

One of the big issues in the lower level classes is that there is absolutely no sense of concept and form.

You can sketch a chair somebody else designed, good for you but design is about a lot more. The earlier one starts to think in those terms, the better your projects will be.