Need advice on career change!

I know this has probably been asked before, but here goes.

I am a 40yr old currently working in graphic design/ multimedia doing the standard dreamweaver/flash/photoshop thing for the past 7 yrs - mostly contract. I have some skills and have also worked in 3d using rhino and lightwave. I have been told that my portfolio is pretty good. I hope this doesnt sound like I have a big ego, but I do want to give an accurate picture in order to get some good responses.

I DO NOT have a degree and so all of this has been pretty much self taught. As a result, I sometimes feel inadequate/missing something career-wise because I never pursued a degree (not for not wanting to but for reasons that are too lengthy to get into here). I would like to settle down in a design firm.

A have already started down the college road and have about 50hrs of core classes under my belt. I submitted a portfolio and was accepted into an architecture program, but found that I really like ID and would like to get into this field and I have been accepted into a program. I really have an interest in designing things that I can put my hands on and know I need at least a BS/BA in ID.

Please advise an older would-be designer. Is it worth it?

OK…so should I take the silence as a ‘forget about it’?

I really do need candid responses, especially if you are working in the field now as a designer or manager.

A bit more background. I don’t really have an interest in continuing to do what I am currently doing, it just seems to be where the demand is right now. I have considered narrowing what I do to tech/3d illustration (In fact my work has been published a couple of times in nat’l mags) but my marketing and self-promotion skills are not great and could use some improvement. (I hate pounding the pavement). I do try to carry myself in a professional manner, and most are surprised to find out I’m not degreed.