Nasty Curriculum Habit at Cincinnati

Hi I’m a student in ID at Univeristy of Cincinnati. There’s been a strong trend in our curriculum for corporate sponsored projects as of late, and I wanted to get some opinions on what students and professionals think the value of this is. Our school is famous for our co-op system–that means that before we graduate we will have completed six mandatory internships with 3-6 different companies. We rotate between school and co-ops every 3 months. For the particular class I am in, every single one of our school projects for the past year and from here on out is a corporate sponsored project, which means the company gives our school money, hands out a very specified project statement, and comes to critique what we come up with. I think for anyone else this sounds like a cool idea that we can all learn from-------HOWEVER—due to the fact that we already have 6 internships of “real world experience”, by the time we get back in school we are dying to just do our own thing and get a chance to be creative and come up with something unique and personal, or specialized in career field we are interested in. Currently the only thing our school has to offer for specialization is automative design, a field with very few jobs every year yet we will soon be graduating 40 students a year into it. Yet other fields, such as furniture and housewares, softgoods, entertainment and concept design, and footwear (all very large industries) are given almost no way to specialize in our curriculum. Instead, we come back from a corporate internship and are forced to do a mandatory corporate project.

What do you guys think? When are we supposed to get an opportunity to develop our own creative ideas that arent forced into a brand, or specialize in a field we are passionate about?