NASA Engineer interested in ID.

Hello,

I am new to this board, but in my research I have found really valuable information in this site. I am an Electrical Engineer who have worked at NASA for 4 years, and I’m in the final stages of an MBA (university of Miami). My biggest concern in being admitted to an ID school is the portfolio, I don’t have one :cry: . Schools that have caught my interest are UC’s DAAP, NYU (the Interactive Communication Program), Pratts Institute and San Jose State University.

Another concern that I have is the emphasis of design in their masters program. I wouldn’t mind applying as an undergraduate, but I wonder if I would be required to take the SAT, or if they would look at my BS degree…Any advice you could give me would be gladly apprecited. Thanks!

Miami Ohio or Fla?
a portfolio wouldn’t be needed for admissions to UC undergrad or PRATT, IIT Grad.
the BA should replace the SAT/ACT just fine.

Engineer + MBA - why would you want to take the pay cut and demotion to work in ID? you’re severly overqualified to start at the bottom, and everyone starts at the bottom.

I ask because although schools wont employers will.

Is Maimi, Florida.

I am discontent with the engineering field. The main career path in the engineering industry is Management, since a lot of the design work is being developed in foreign countries (Israel, India, Korea, China, etc…). That’s the reason why I decided to pursue an MBA, and I don’t mind doing it because is being paid for and the business knowledge is very valuable.

For some time know I have been looking into a profession that bridges that gap bewteen engineering and art, and ID is absolutely it. To tell you the truth, I don’t mind the pay cut as long as I’m doing something I like and that is challenging. I don’t want to sound corny, becuase I know a job is a job, but I truly feel that I am a better match for ID than engineering.