My first portfolio!

Hey Core77,

As a sophomore who just finished his first non-foundations quarter at UC, This is my first attempt at creating a portfolio to showcase my efforts for potential co op jobs. Any feedback would be great!

thanks

I understand that this portfolio technically shows your ID work for the past 3 months (Since you only have 1 quarter of actual ID under your belt) So I’ll keep that in mind when critiquing, but I want to push you to put out the best work possible.

First off, http://www.slideshare.net is a bit awkward. Use Issu.com or just upload it to the school server (daapspace) and post a link to the pdf. Will makes things a little less complicated as I can’t see your portfolio in full screen right now. Also it converts your text to raster which makes it look grainy. Example your resume is unreadable right now.

On to your projects.

Bowling Ball Box.
Sketches, these need to be tightened up. 7 sketches can be a good amount, but these are more like thumbnails right now, and im left wanting a lot more. The page should be filled: Right now those 7 sketches are struggling to make an impact and the page feels bare because of it. Also I cant read your call outs on your sketches. Not sure if this is on purpose or you just didn’t want me to read them and did a poor job of cleaning them up.

Take some time and clean them up. Letter cleanly, or come back in an use photoshop to write your notes. Also make your sketches a bit more dynamic. A couple of technical sketches would be awesome. Printed Dresses and Shoes - IdSketching Draw how your tabs work. This box uses no glue, but you don’t highlight how its held together.

Sketch over some other boxes to help get your perspective down, it’ll save you time constructing your basic forms and let you explore options a bit more.