My First Industrial Design Portfolio

Hey guys,
Im a sophomore at Syracuse University in the I.D. program. Its 5 years of school total and this is the first year we actually get into the major. I posted my portfolio thus far, because we had a project for our graphics class to put together our work up until this point. I would love some feedback! Thanks!

It looks like you are off to a good start. The main issues I have is mainly with your titles and text.

1. Fix the coloring on your titles to match the actual color of one of the colors in a sketch. You’ve attempted this, but the colors are not quite there. The children’s project is the most obvious to me… the blue in the title doesn’t match any blue in your sketches.

2. The titles and the text need something else. They are currently lacking in the alignment department. They just don’t match visually. I’m not sure if there is a scale issue or if there needs to be an underline on the title. It just lacks something.

3. Get rid of the hyphenation in your text. it’s obnoxious since it’s not in a book or magazine article. Only use them for long write-ups (even then it’s very questionable).

4. Work on the wording of your projects. I don’t need to read that three of your projects were week long studies. try and briefly explain your concept for the piece.

5. I don’t really want to see your personal logo on every page.

6. I would like to see some more details on your various projects. for example: on your backpack project… I would like to see some close-ups of how you would detail the ipod pocket, the water bottle pocket… just some more info on how you would solve some of those issues.

I hope this helps. Keep up the good work.

Hey good stuff…

Like Ross said I would show more of your process within each project. It’s really good that you are posting your stuff this early in your undergrad education. It will only help. Your sketches look pretty good…I would like to see more of them.