My final major project

Hello all. I am a product design student at Birmingham City University. I am entering my final year of the course. It’s been going well so far. I learned a hell of a lot since being at uni. I never understood what people meant by ‘living within design’ until I found myself surrounded by it. The course has completely changed my level of thinking. I want to challenge this notion in my final major project. At the moment I am aiming to design a reading chair. Design is changing and so every designer has to change with it. I want to express this in my final major project. The chair itself will be exhibited but I want it to be as indiscreet as possible. I want the user to not think about what they are doing when they are going to sit in the chair. I don’t want them to think “I am going to sit in this chair, I wonder how comfy it is”. Basically I want to design something which reflects; or more importantly allows the user to reflect upon where design is going. The global recession is going to change everything. Oh, it will also be sustainable. I have also been thinking of writing a book which the user can read when they are in the chair which explains the thought behind the design. But that could be slightly insane of me. The chair may also be in a series of which will include a side table and a foot rest (as you can probably tell I haven’t finalised the brief yet).

Anyway.

Any recommendations would be AMAZING.

Cheers,

Philip Appleton

A lot of disconnected thoughts there, not sure if I really understand what you are planning on doing…

anyhow, regardless, the first question I would ask is “what is the problem?” another way to think of it would be to ask “why should this product exist?”

Any good design (aside from something purely aesthetic or conceptual) should have an answer to these questions. Otherwise you are not really creating a design solution, but just making another chair.