Moving to a bigger city

To preface this, I am a 2010 graduate from the University of Illinois, and I am from Springfield Missouri, about 3.5 hours away from St. Louis.

So I’ve been looking for work since graduation. Now I knew it was going to be tough, going into an economy like this and competing with the thousands of other recent graduates looking for jobs as well. First there was the obligatory emails sent out to my contacts, letting them know that I was graduated and looking for work. Landed a few interviews, but they decided to go with a more experienced candidate.

Then I turned to the internet, searching for job openings and applying to a bunch of them. I also looked for companies and sent emails inquiring about openings as well.

Personally I think I’m wasting my time with this. I know, I know, you never know, someone might pull my resume and portfolio, which is why I keep doing it, but honestly I feel like I’m just another cog in the machine. I try to stand out as much as I can without being outlandish or unprofessional, but seriously, there are thousands of people sending in applications and I do not like those odds.

So as I’ve said, I’ve been at this since graduation, and I’m feeling pretty beaten down. This frustration has led me to my decision to move to a bigger city in 2011. I have a part time job now, and I’m doing little freelance jobs here and there, and hopefully I can save up the capital to move to a bigger city in search of work. My hope is to take advantage of my IDSA membership and attend functions to meet people and talk to professionals, and try to convince someone to give me a chance.

So I guess my questions is, does this decision to move make sense? I know it’s a gamble, but I feel that in order to end up where I want, I’m going to have to go out and talk to people, or at least be in the same area where I can meet them.

There have been a few threads within the last year that shed light on the same situation.
Go, have a look into that.