Moving from the US to Montreal in the design industry. Tips?

Hi all, this is my first post. (Hurray for me) I’m a designer with 2 years experience, and am considering making a move to Montreal in a few years (possibly 4 or so).

Does anyone here have experience with making a move to another country in the design field? Specifically, a country that speaks a different language or is primarily bilingual like Montreal?

Questions include:

How much of the language did you learn before moving, compared to learning while in the country?

Did language barriers exclude you from certain positions?

How much weight does design experience in the US have in other countries? Was it thought highly of? Or looked down on?

Any issues with needing foriegn certifications such as NCIDQ for Interior Designers, or AIA for architects here in the US?

How does salary tend to go? Were you paid more in the new job? Less? Equal? And did any increase coincide with any increased cost of living? Basically, were you better off financially in the new job/country than before?

Any tips, experiences, or stories about making the ‘big leap’ would be appreciated.

Thanks a ton.

Hi,
I’m a designer in Montreal and can help you with the language barrier question. As you probably know, french is the main language in Quebec. If you are right in Montreal, I’d say french and english are spoken equally, but as soon as you get out of downtown Montreal, it gets a little more challenging. But I find that if you are ready to try to speak it (even a broken version of it), people are very flexible and will help you or switch to english.

If you can speak at least a little bit before to get here, it would be ideal because it might block you some doors, but it’s worth the effort and you will get better really fast

good luck with your move and enjoy Montréal!! :slight_smile: