moving from designer to manager

Hi All,

I have more than 10 years experience in the industrial design field. I’ve worked in design consulting as well as an in-house designer, but (maybe unfortunately) I’ve done more consulting than corporate, and now I find myself trapped in a hole I am having a hard time getting out of.
I am finishing a graduate diploma in management, and want to make the jump from designer to manager. But the consulting firms I’ve worked for are relatively small, and hence I couldn’t get much experience (nor the possibility ) of doing people management… I’ve done lots of project management, but run the projects all alone…

So now when I apply for design manager position, regardless of how many people are in the design team (even if there are only 2) I am always told that I lack management experience… How to get the experience if nobody wants to hire me! the usual who comes first; the egg or the chicken. On top of that, I live a small-medium size city and there are not that many companies that have the necessary structure for a design department with a dedicated manager…

So should I change jobs, to a bigger company, and simply hope that one day a design manager position will become available there, or should I keep looking and maybe I’ll get lucky one day?

To all the design managers out there, how did it happen for you?
Any advice?

Thanks

Gerry

Hi Gerry.

In my experience, companies pay you to do what you can do, not what you might be able to do. It is really difficult to get a position, especially at the management level, if you can not show applicable experience. Sounds like quite the catch 22 I know, but here are a few things you can do that worked for me: