Most used 3d software

I am a ID student at wentworth in boston, The program they teach is for 3d modeling is rhino. Is that a commonly used 3d program in the “real” world?

I am really asking so that I know if I will be handicapped compared to other students when going for co-op or other positions. Or if there are other 3d modeling programs I should try to foucs my attention on, such as solidworks or modo etc.

Rhino and SolidWorks would be a good combination to learn. They ane used in the real world and very popular cause of their affordability. Alternatively Pro/E and Alias Studio ane higher end programs also used in the “real world.”

Rhino is a solid package. While it may not be as widely used in larger firms with bigger budgets, it will teach you the fundamentals of surfacing without the “I want to rip my hair out” effects that Alias can have. Solidworks is another good package to pick up to understand solid modelling. Also would be worth picking up a good rendering package like Hypershot, Showcase, or an older more tradtional package like Maya or 3D Studio Max.

With those 3 types of packages under your belt you would be a solid candidate just about anywhere, even if they use Alias/Pro E/Unigraphics/etc.

While Rhino3D probably isn’t the MOST used software, it forces you to think in 3D CAD terms. For instance, I’m probably seen as elite-level when it comes to Rhino. When I took a Solidworks Advanced Surfacing class this past spring, I was immediately able to understand the concepts and was able to quickly learn. Solidworks is about $7K for 3-yr license. Rhino is about $1K and you can download an educational version. So, for that reason alone,I’d suggest you learn Rhino because of it’s power and simplicity.

Good luck!

We learn Solidworks and Alias at my school. I like having learned Alias because learning Rhino is easier, whereas going from Rhino to Alias may be difficult.