More marketable...GD OR ID?

Hey Coroflot,

I am looking for artists and those in the industry to give their input about what I should pursue? Long story short, I will be a mature student when I return to school to get a BFA at 26…(already have an unrelated liberal arts degree that hasn’t gotten me anywhere). The good thing about being older is I am slightly less delusional than I was at 18…slightly, haha. I am an artist at heart and my whole life have always been into taking things apart to see how they work, ripping engines off of snowblowers to make minibikes, inventing anything my mind could come up with, playing in bands, drawing, making art, building forts, etc…pretty right brained. My first college experience wasn’t the best as I truly didn’t know what I wanted and naively daydreamed my way through. Anyways, I have been accepted to College for Creative Studies, but the loans I would have to take out are out of control and I wouldn’t have any help financially. Would it hurt my chances if I chose to attend a state school instead of a private art school? Also, I am having a hard time picking a discipline. Overall, what would be a more marketable degree? I do enjoy both disciplines very much.

welcome to Core,
I don’t think there’s any clear answer for you, wherever your passion takes you is most likely where you’ll excell.
there are salary surveys and school rankings and such if it helps, but what makes you the most marketable will be the quality of your portfolio.

Hey daydreamboy - you sound almost EXACTLY like me.