Metal Furniture: from design to nowhere?

Hi - So I’m a little frustrated. I’m a furniture designer who works for high-end production furniture companies, almost exclusively in wood. We also commission out one-off pieces for good clients, again, almost exclusively in wood.

Recently, I designed a metal console table - mostly negative space (read: not a lot of material required) - and a clean shape. In wood, it would be a straightforward project, but I chose (drumroll please) to specify metal. I’ve approached a few metal shops (both blacksmith-type shops and fabrication-type shops) and have had to hound every one of them to even call me back. I’d like to have the piece done expediently since it’s taken so long to get this moving, but I don’t want to get raked over the coals - it’s not really that complex a piece - it’s just a cool piece of furniture.

So I have two questions:

1. Does anyone have a “metal guy/girl” in the New York/New England area that they know does good work and sounds like they could handle this project?

2. Is this a chronic attitude at metal shops, and I should just stick to wood? Maybe I’m just calling the wrong people, but I’ve tried a dozen places from one-person ops to big shops.

Any help and opinions would be appreciated - I’m not feeling very zen-ish today!

-ZF

i also work for a high-end residential furniture company in Chicago. Metal vendors that can fabricate and do sick finishes are a rarity these days.

oh and also…if you can find a metal guy…make sure you get finish samples from him to approve…sometimes we have to get samples 3 or 4 times before the vendor even gets it right.

Thanks - I might have found someone this week… I hope it works out. If it does, I’ll be singing their praises…

-ZF

try these guys, a bit expensive and located in swizerland but i saw their laser cutting and folding equipment in iran and they were quite interesting.

Dear all,