Mechanical Engineer to ID (yes, another one)

Hi,

I’m a mechanical engineer from India (graduated from the University of Michigan in December) and I’m looking to transition to product design/development. I was hoping for inputs regarding the transition. I DID use the search feature and go through a number of threads on this forum but the responses were quite varied (and in the end not entirely helpful to me) since they ranged from the equivalent of “you need to do another undergraduate degree in design” to “it can’t happen easily”. The one thread that was informative was this one Engineering to ID, how do I do it? but then again, it didn’t really say much about what one could do as it sort of digressed into a discussion about why people opt for engineering when they want to do design.

For my background, I made the mistake that most people mentioned in the “engineer to design” threads, and that was assuming that engineering meant the design/making of new products. I realized the mistake quite late (middle of my junior year) and now am looking to change the situation. One big problem being, I don’t have much of a portfolio since the only design experience I have is from a couple of internships and a couple of elective classes (Michigan has a rather rigid engineering program and an art department that seems to hate ID).

I decided to try my luck and applied for a few of master’s programs in product design/development in the US (Northwestern, Carnegie Mellon, Upenn) and UK (Brunel, Loughborough, Glasgow) and also the Industrial Design Introduction course at UMEA (I figured this would also be a good transition to design). I got rejected by the programs in the US (my GPA isn’t stellar and neither is my portfolio so had no chance to start off with) and I’m yet to hear from the others but I don’t know how good a chance I have.