Materials search. Can I get some advice from the verterans?

Hi this is my first post to this board, so I will introduce myself a bit here bfore breaking into my questions.

I am an avid builder of models and other forms of art and recently completed a clone trooper outfit from the most recent Star Wars. Yep, I nerd too.

I found this forum while hunting for information regarding the construction of shoes because I can’t find a shoe that fits my needs, and have decided to just make my own. I have made progress, but am still learning.

I hope that those “in the know” will chime in here and help out a little. The shoe I trying to make is similar to a basketball mid top sneaker. Here is a picture:

It is a smoothe boot with a sneaker sole and a toe piece. It has a spat and a strap that goes over the top and fastens on the sides.

I have a fair idea how to make this and have procured a size 11 last with a 1/2" heel height. Now I am researching materials. Mind you, I am building only a few of these and Only find Chinese vendors that sell materials by the ton.

Question 1: Which would be easier: a) molding a sole to be glued onto the bottom and sticthed around the sides, or a sole that glued to the EVA midsole and then wrap a rubber welt around the bottom edge of the sole?

question 2: Does anyone know of a source for EVA foam sheets (1/4" and 1/2" thickness) in small quantity?

Question 3: Can anyone recommend a source of white rubber for the welting? Does it need to be uncured to be able to bond to the show under heat?

Lastly, if anyone has any thoughts on this process, I am all ears. I would like to hear those that hav more knowledge that I about all this. Comments welcome.

Thank you for allowing to come and ask.