masters in ID from bachelors in engg. Please help!!!

HELLO

I have a bachelor’s in mechanical engineering but I want a career in design because I want a career in creative and artistic field where I can use my creativity and imagination. Engineering study was fun but I don’t like the job in factories and all plus I didn’t graduate from a prestigious college.

Now I am interested in transportation design and industrial design but I have heard that jobs in transportation design are very less as compared to ID. So, I was thinking about a masters in industrial design.

Now comes the sketching part. I can show you some of my transportation design sketches as I haven’t scanned my industrial design sketches yet.
http://www.productdesignforums.com/topic/14046-from-engineering-to-design-please-help-me/

I posted same question with attached images on some other site too. The above link takes you there.

They would give you an idea of my sketching skills which are not too good to be honest but are okay I guess.

So, all I am worried is am I doing right thing to go for a master design course??? Yes, I have the creativity, skills required to become a designer but still I wonder If doing a master course would help me. I wonder what if don’t get a job after that which is my biggest concern.

What do you guys think??? any guidance is appreciated.

Also, please tell me some good schools for masters in industrial design which are not too expensive as I highly doubt considering myself for a scholarship because my ID portfolio isn’t that strong because of no past experience but I can learn and learn pretty fast.

A couple comments:

• Please don’t be lazy and either attach images or link directly. You are just linking to a thread on another forum now, + I can’t even view those images without logging in.
  • There are quite a few threads about engineers moving into design, have you tried to search?