Mass Art

Hi, I’m an ID sophmore at Mass Art. When I applied to schools in highschool I relyied a lot on my art department for school suggestions instead of researching ID programs. I a result I applied to RISD, Syracuse, and MassArt. I got accepted to all three and had my heart set on RISD but after visiting the campus and dealing with financial aid, I wanted nothing to do with the school.

My question is, how respectable is a degree from MassArt in comparison to say the likes of Pratt or RISD?

I’d like to think it matters mostly on raw talent rather then what school you graduate from but after reading through the forums I’m starting to think otherwise.

I suppose basically I’m asking whether I should stay at MassArt (which I’m fairly happy with the ID department) or whether it would be in my benefit to transfer.

Where did you grow up? Sounds like the same town I did- and I graduated highschool 25 years ago ;D

I didn’t go to Syracuse because my dad said he didn’t feel the school was worth all the money that were asking. (Hard to argue when your dad was a college prof in the area.)

For some reason my application to RISD was postmarked 1 day after the deadline so they didn’t even open my application… just sent it back.

Got into BU, MassArt and U Mass Amherst.

Went to Amherst. They gave me so much aid I think I only took out a$250 national direct loan- that’s it. I transfered after my first 2 years.

yeah, syracuse was very expensive for what seemed like a rather unimpressive program.

They gave me a large chunk of money to go there, but even with a 5 digit scholarship, mass art was still cheaper.

Mass Art is the only public art school in the country. If you are a state resident its the best deal going for a quality art school.

from someone who went through the RISD thing…