Majors/Careers Similar to ID

Hey there,
I’m a high school senior who’s been doing some college visiting this summer for ID. I’ve been to Cincinnati and Philadelphia U so far and am applying to both. My dream has been to work for New Balance (but I’ll take Saucony, Brooks, etc.) as a running/competition shoe designer. That is why I’ve been looking at ID. However, I’m not 100% sure I want to do ID. For one thing, I am concerned that I won’t “make it” in college. I’m pretty smart and all, and I am a halfway decent photographer, but I don’t have the artistic drawing skills that I see in the portfolios of current students at the schools I’m looking at. Also, even if I do make it through school, there are no guarantees that I will get a job in the industry I want. It doesn’t help when I hear all of the doom and gloom about the job market these days. And finally, 10-20 years from now I might not be into running/running shoes like I am today. So sure, I’ll be doubling down my senior year on art classes to develop my skills, but before I dedicate myself entirely to Industrial Design I just want to see if there is anything else out there. From an early age I was exposed to Urban Planning and for a long time I was certain that was what I was going to do. I like the design part and I love visiting cool towns/cities, but from what I hear the actual career of planning can be more politics and paper pushing than actual design. I did get to see the Urban Planning department at DAAP which was great because I could kill two birds with one stone so to speak. Landscape Architecture and Architecture are interesting but seem too “artsy” without the practicality that ID (sometimes) has. After that the list wanders to Technical Writing, Geology, Geography, Philosophy, and some sort of Enviromental-Arborist-Forestry-thing like they do at SUNY-ESF down the street from me.

:smiley: