MA Ceramics

I’m a product design graduate , but am currently training in ceramics, pottery basically and I must say that it has completely blown my mind. I never realized that I actually love working with hands. Do you think an MA in ceramics would help? And in which schools should I apply?

A friend of mine just went back for her MA in ceramics at RISD…

What do you hope to get out of a MA in Ceramics? Where do you want to be after you graduate?

Working with ceramics is great, I love it too.
I am not sure if this is interesting to you, but my school konstfack in stockholm/Sweden offers a MA in ceramics.
However, most if not all accepted have already a very extensive portfolio and come into the program with a lot of experience.
That being said, they always like to accept wild cards.

Good luck.

I’m guessing what you’re trying to say is that poeple who usually join an MA program in ceramics are usually folks who have been practicing it for quite a while, are experts (maybe have/work in a studio too) ? Is that correct? Or there are people like me who just discovered pottery, ceramics and would like to take it up at school?

Well, yes. Most of the students that are accepted to the program have done pottery and ceramics in the past and are now, in a Maters course, building and experimenting on the basis of their previous, often more traditional experience.
Also, the department is structured in collaboration with a strong glass blowing program. However, as far as I am aware, the applicant does only need prior experience in one of these two fields.

Craft and hands on experience is very important. I would maybe instead of a Masters, advice to work with an experienced potter in a master-apprentice relationship and pick up a foundation. Learning this way has gotten very rare which I think is quite sad. There is so much to be learned that one can hardly pick up in a school environment.