Luthierie to ID?

I’m a luthier (violin maker) with a broad liberal arts degree seeking to make my next career move. Industrial design is one of those things I often wish I had done instead of my current career, and from what little I can glean, I already have many of the basic skills used in the profession from my current line of work. Although my immediate desire is to extend my current career in a new direction not usually taken by others in my field, I’m also seeking to broaden my employability outside the music business, if possible.

The obvious first option is to get a second bachelors in ID. This would be an expensive and impractical luxury. I can’t afford not to work to attend full-time, and the nearest program is at UW-Stout, 70 miles from here in Minneapolis, well beyond part-time commuting. I can’t easily justify the time and expense, especially in light of the many discouraging reports of unemployment and low pay from recent grads here on these boards.

Another option I’ve been looking at is the nascent Design Institute at the U of Minnesota. So far it appears to be little more than the design camp for teens, but a multidisciplinary MA in design is rumored to be in the works. This might be a good option, but as a new degree without gradutates to prove its worth in the workplace, there’s the risk that this could become another expensive vanity degree.

The third option I’ve been thinking about is simply taking relevant coursework without enrolling in a degree program. This would certainly free me up to take only those courses I feel are useful to me, but I doubt such a plan would result in any bankable content for my resume.

Any ideas?

go for MA but see if you can get into a program that gives you more of concept development, practical training and some theory.