Looking for career advice

Hi Guys

I’m looking for some career guidance on some decisions I need to make soon. I’m a recent grad who is coming up on working almost two years at an in house design agency at a large corporation. It’s been an amazing experience, I’ve learned quite a bit and have had the opportunity to grow and have gained respect and responsibility in a very short amount of time. Yet, for a variety of reasons, I’ve decided to explore other opportunities that are out there.

The problem I have is, due to working corporate design and the long product life cycles, I don’t have any products out in the market that I can add to my portfolio and show to potential employers. So essentially all I have with my portfolio, is work from my time in school. I have one product, that is in development and won’t be released till late next year and another one that will be released 2 yrs from now. A coworker of mine said it would be okay to show early development sketches/models, but only in person and not any final designs. I know this is a really sketchy topic since it involves confidentiality and I definitely don’t want to do anything to hurt my current employer or make me look bad.

Any advice you guys might have would be greatly appreciated.

You could probably do some personal projects on the side that showcase the skills you have learned/improved during your 2 years at your current employer. And probably include a note that you can’t show your complete current work for confidentiality reasons.

Thanks GHoge.