Looking for a 1 yr program - reputable - inexpensive - THX

I have a BSc. in Manufacturing Engineering (which is a combo of industrial/mechanical engineering). I am looking to work in with ID industry but have no formal ARTS training. I am looking for a school to help me build a portfolio. I am mostly interested in cultivating my creativity for furniture design. But I am open to all ID schools. I would like to complete a program in 1 year preferably, and I would like to spend MAX $12-$15K. I am from Canada and I speak both french and english. Can anyone give me any helpful advice?

This reminds me of the Keith Bontrager quote we see here so often…

“cheap - strong - light . . . . . pick two”

In this case however it is “1 year program - reputable - inexpensive…pick one”

I’m afraid you will be hard pressed to find those 3 attributes together.

Keith is correct, there are good programs in Canada check them out.
Because, the only thing 1 year of ID is good for is to help out CAD jockeys percieve complexity of form.

there are programs in canada- tho im not sure if they’re 1 year.

in europe, you can go to italy. domus academy and SPD both offer 1-year graduate programs.

like what no spec said - there’s no guarantee that you will learn most ID skills in 1 year.

i studied for 5 years, i’ve been working for almost 5 years now…but still i’m trying to improve my drawing and 3D skills (though in fairness we were not taught about 3D CAD when i was in school).

I can’t speak for Canada, but stateside, you’d be hard pressed to find any program that would offer anything for just a year. I think a year’s worth of schooling anywhere is going to do you little good in regards to breaking into the ID field. If you’re serious about breaking into ID, you’re best bet might be to go back fulltime for either another bachelors, or a masters.