London for industrial designers

Hi everyone, this is my first post on the core77 forums.

I am looking to move to the UK and more particularly London. Before I uproot my family (girlfriend and dog) and ship them over, I would love to hear from industrial designers in London about your opinion of the city as a place of work. Are there a vast variety of opportunities, room for growth, inspirational climate, decent salary etc. Really any information or advice would be appreciated.

Just a quick bit on my background. I started out my journey in design as a graphic designer. I then proceeded to earn my BTech industrial design. Shortly thereafter I worked for a turnkey design consultancy for a year and I have been freelancing for the last 3 years since. I am ideally looking to work for a studio but I’m also open to a in-house work.

I would imagine that since it’s a global city, the design industry should be flourishing there and the opportunities should be pretty good. If this industry has taught me one thing however, it’s that assumption is the mother of all stuff ups so I would love to hear from other industrial designers in London on their opinion and experience of the city as a place of work.

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for the help!

Firstly, welcome to the boards!

Where are you relocating from? Just so it’s easier to understand what you are used to.

My personal opinion of London is that it is a really tricky place to move to and to work as a designer. Especially in this political climate.
Salaries and cost of living are completely out of synch in creative fields based on my experience interviewing with agencies.
What was offered was frankly laughable for one of the most expensive cities in the world. But that is of course just my personal POV.

I love London, have many designer friends there and visit it often but from a professional perspective, I would be cautious and make sure you get a living wage.