Little chance for a id student from south get a design job ?

Now I am studying in ID in southern aera. There are not so many companies which want to employ designers. Even finding an internship is not easy. Most students here do not work as a product designer after they graduate. Is it true that companies dislike students from south?

Portfolio is what matters. Unless you are unwilling to relocate, I don’t see what’s the difference.

I currently work for Peavey Electronics in Meridian, MS. I am probably one of a handful of working Industrial Designers in Mississippi. We are currently looking for another designer, and would absolutely consider a candidate from the south. Your portfolio and personality. are definitely what are going to get you hired though.

http://order.tupperware.com/pls/htprod_www/tup_guide.contact

Ryobi (SC), Electrolux (SC), Michelin(SC), Kids 2 (GA), Philips(GA), SonyEricsson (NC), A bunch in Texas (Ignition, HP, etc) and a lot of small consultancies are in the south. Don’t waste your time trying to go huge unless youre pretty solid or go to UCinc. Just find somewhere you KNOW you’ll learn a lot and feel comfortable working at and go for it. I tried too hard to go for the large consultancies my junior year and lost chances with smaller consutancies or other corporations.

Oh and I got my degree from the south, and its your portfolio that should get you hired, not your school, ethnicity, heritage, where youre from, etc.

check out kimball- they are a furniture company in the south (famous for their organs/pianos- but they are branching out to things like office furniture )- i think southern indiana- anyway- i heard they are hiring designers. They were interested in me- but i did not want to relocate as i am in chicago. :peace

Portfolio is the key to any job you get. Contacts is the next.