light color and design at pratt

i am a transfer student at pratt and although i could have placed out of light, color, and design, i signed up for the course because i did not feel as if my background were really sufficient for ID. in fact, i chose to transfer to pratt because of its emphasis on foundation skills! i have heard from most older students, however, that the course was not worth the effort. i also hear that in contrast to the name of the course, it is really a typical color theory class and that there is little emphasis on general 2D design and aesthetics such as page composition. i have also heard that there is little practical application of theory covered in class. i am willing to work hard if i will get something in return, but i do not want to waste my time if i don’t have to. who knows - maybe the info i learned in my color class years ago will come back to me when i need it. can any students give me any advice?

I took Physics, Chemistry, Additional Maths, elementry Maths, Biology, Geography, History and 2 languages before college. I thought it was a total waste of time and I was taking them because I had to. Now I find that even though I can’t remember most of the specific equations or dates I studied, I have learnt the logic of reasoning in each of those different fields.

We have color and light class here too. It’s the most demanding class among the foundation classes. I don’t think any foundation class should be neglected. All of them serve very important purpose in building your foundation skills, whether or not you are going to use them directly. I bet you will miss them after sophmore year cus everything you will be doing will be ID and you will wish there is something different to do.

You need to take everything for what it is worth.
I don’t go to Pratt - but I went to art school - and for the most part, you get what you give.