Length of Portfolio

I’m in the beginning stages of getting my professional portfolio together for the first time. I have 3 years of professional experience to discuss

How long should my portfolio be?

I’m planning an 11x17 layout, and after jotting down some real rough thoughts on what to include, I have:

-7 major projects
-3 minor projects

total page estimation of 26 pages.

…seems like a lot. but I haven’t done this in several years so I could just be responding to the amount of work I have a head of me.

Any thoughts on how many pages would be too long? and too short?

Thanks

JK

I think 10-15 pieces is fine.

You want to have a good pace with the work.

Open and close strong and have a strong piece every 3-4th piece.

Like a fence. The posts are strong and the wire is the filler.

Too many pieces make the viewer bored. Not enough doesn’t let them know what you are capable of.

Good Luck!

JESTER

I think it depends a lot on what kind of work you’re showing. If it’s, say, graphic design or illustration, you can show more pieces, because the image is the primary object of presentation.

If you’re doing ID, I would say 10-15 projects is too many, since you’re expected to do a bit more storytelling. I just did a portfolio review a couple of days ago: 17 pages, letter size, 7 projects plus a couple of pages of sketching and rendering samples, that may have been just a touch too long.

It might be more useful to think of it in terms of time: a typical initial portfolio review lasts 15-20 minutes. If something really catches their attention it might go longer, but you need to be able to get through the whole thing, giving each project its due, in that time. 26 pages in 15 minutes seems awfully rushed to me.

I once interviewed a designer who brought everything they’ve done since college. So, all related (and un-related) college work + 4 years of professional work.

Took him 40 minutes to ramble through it all.

He wasn’t called back.