Legally Titled Chartered Industrial Designers and ACIDO

Formal Industrial Designer Accreditation through professional associations, enforced by law…

• yea (yes)
  • nay (no)

0 voters

disclaimer: I’m not affiliated with/do not represent ACIDO, I’m actually a student at Carleton School of ID :slight_smile:

Did you know that ACIDO (Association of Chartered Industrial Designers of Ontario) is the only organization in the Americas (to my knowledge) that has an official legal accreditation of Industrial Designers?

The legislature (provincial government) has made “Chartered Industrial Designer” a legal title in Ontario, akin to a chartered accountant. The idea being to prevent just anybody with a portfolio from claiming to be an industrial designer, although the real prerogative is on industry to refuse to contract anyone who isn’t certified (and vetted by ACIDO, involving tests and membership fees). It is a lesser version of the laws against claiming to be a lawyer, doctor, engineer, or architect without official accreditation.

ACIDO finds this to be a necessary step for the interests of members because the situation in Canada is that due to lack of jobs in permanent design departments, the majority of IDers freelance, or work in companies with less than 5 employees. This means it is hard to differentiate at face value from self-styled low-bidding “designers” that have no education, no knowledge of business or mass production techniques, and offering no real ROI to their employers.