Learning Curve Sketching on a Cintiq or Display

Hi All,

Ok, I’ve been a designer for almost 10 years; and have mostly used my Cintiq (which I’ve sold recently in favor of a Microsoft Studio Surface 2) for 2D rendering/coloring/photoshop editing, etc. Basically, in all the time of owning my Cintiq, I’ve only tried sketching on it a few times, but gave up once I realized I preferred paper over a slick screen. In my last job, I was sketching on paper, scanning my sketches and then using digital means for adding color/line weights/texture/call outs, etc. It wasn’t necessarily a problem during my 5 year tenure; but once I started to notice a few of my designer peers using their Cintiqs for sketching and eventually coloring/2D rendering, I realized I was definitely behind.

Now that I am back on the job market, and now owning a newer drawing display, I figured I’d give this a try and get better at it as it would definitely improve my workflow staying digital from beginning to end.

Anyone else had that first disconnect with going from paper to glass display; and how did you overcome it? Anyone still scans in their sketches?

Thanks everyone,

Best,

Eameser

One part is practice for sure, it takes a bit of time but I think you can get there. I always had a bigger issue of the flat of my hand getting sweaty after sitting on the warm screen for too long.

However if you go with a Cintiq (not sure about the no-name brands) they include a whole set of different types of nibs in the pen holder. There is a felt nib that has a lot more friction if that’s your cup of tea, but in my experience once you got used to the smoothness it was easy to adapt.

I use pretty much everything. They are all just tools. I actually tend to use paper (just super cheap printer paper, low poundage) or my iPad for early ideation sketches and then only got tot he Cintiq for more tighter refined work. It might be more psychological than anything.