Laptops

I was just accepted in to my Industrial Design program at my school and am required to buy a laptop. I have very little knowledge about laptops and all the details… Just wondering if anyone has any good advice on what would be a good starting off laptop for a student?
Thanks

http://www.productdesignhub.com/articles/31-product-design-forums-picks/26-what-a-designer-should-know-when-buying-a-desktop-pc-or-laptop

Cheers.

Thanks cyberdemon!

Congratulations! I wish you success with your education and career.

I got the macbook pro, i think its a good option.

More than computer i’d like to know what softwares i should start experimenting with.
Till now i’ve been playing with pixelmator, photoshop, raytracing, i downladed a trial of rhino… even google sketchup.

I found a list online of free softwares for mac.

Any suggestions of software i should focus on will be appreciated
Or the ones that a must so i can get it.

Thanks

first, I think a Macbook Pro is a good choice.

I would recommend to set up boot camp and get the educational edition of Solid Works.
You will most certainly have use for it during your studies.

I wish I would have learned it in sophomore year.
It is not that hard, you just have to spend some time in the program.
SW plus a hypershot and you can make some pretty cool stuff.

Pretty much all 3d rendering programs (SolidWorks, Rhino) are PC only, so if you do get a Mac you’ll need to install a Windows partition and a coy of Windows (though Rhino and maybe eventually others are coming to Mac).

Id say must have programs:
-3d CAD (SolidWorks or Rhino are probably the top 2; Alias and XSI are great but pretty $$ so most companies/schools don’t own them)
-2d programs: Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign (you’ll have to make posterboards, etc)

Recommended:
-a good rendering plug-in for the 3d CAD programs (Bunkspeed, etc), you’ll get a lot better final rendered pictures than the default rendering options that comes with the CAD programs

Desired: