Laminating and using MDF

I’ve never used MDF before, but need to for a project. I need to laminate a bunch of layers together into a block and don’t know what type of adhesive to use.

As well, I’m wondering if anyone knows what the best tool to rough cut my form down would be.

Thanks!

You should be able to use regular wood glue, the same stuff you’d use if doing laminated plywood. I believe that’s what I used the last time I laminated mdf and it worked really well.

MDF is mostly made of wood fibers so wood glue like Titebond II works fine. A lot of other glues will work but I found that the MDF will break before a wood glued joint fails.

To shape it, use big tools (saws, mills) to get it as close as possible. To shape it further I’d use a rasp or power sander/grinder and finish with hand sanding.

I will also caution you to always!!! wear a respirator, working with MDF produces a nasty, fine dust that is very irritating. I had bronchitis for a month because I was lazy and didn’t wear my respirator for a while on my last project.

Hope this helps.

While at home depot I saw it comes in some pretty thin sheets. I’m curious if I could laser cut it first before I laminate it. I can’t figure any reason why not, and it’d probably end up being a lot more precise.

I’s say remove as much excess material that you can, before you start your laminating.

If you have the luxury of laser cutting, utilized a couple of holes to “register” you sections together to aid bonding the assembly together; then pin the individual sections together with short pieces of wood dowel (the sections then will not slip around as you glue them.).

Aliphatic (yellow glue) works well with MDF. “Titebond” is a good one.