Lack of Direction from Clients

I’m looking for advice or suggestions in regards to a couple freelance projects I am doing on the side right now. The projects have a very limited time/budget so we are attempting to move from rough sketches to a presentable “proof-of-principle” CAD model. It’s work that is being passed to me, so I have little information on the final uses of my work, sadly.

I feel like I have asked for their input, some inspiration-type images, and stressed that it’s not reasonable to jump too quickly through the process. The budget can’t really change. Now I believe the best I can do is to literally “do my best” given the information I have. I’d want the work, but I’m fearful that the final results could be sub-par. Thanks!

Feel free to explain to them the simple rules of design.

You could provide the inspiration and ask for feedback?

I don’t know what area of design you work in, but as I’m a footwear designer, I tend to make either mood boards or a research report (of relevant competitor product) , sometimes both and submit this for feedback. It creates a starting point so that I know their taste and needs before I start designing.

I love the graph Hoodzy. Shoe- this is for a consumer product… Thanks for thoughts. I think even if I create a 1-page/presentation suggestion for form inspiration that could help.

Creating the solid brief is a big part of a design job. If that wasn’t done in your part I don’t know if it’s fair to blame the client. I won’t take on a job that doesn’t have a well thought out scope or planning stage in the budget to avoid exactly the issue you mention.

R

It is a good lesson to learn. There are different types of projects, and that difference varies the scope, timing, and price.

Some projects are very clear cut, or can be made that way with some upfront alignment before the kickoff. Those are easy to to scope.