Jobs in St. Louis, MO or Austin, TX

Ok my fellow designers, I’m hoping someone here my have some insight on what some good places to contact would be in either St. Louis, MO or Austin, TX. I already did a search and knew of some places beforehand, but I’m hoping that someone might know of an out of the way place that they can recommend.

The reason is that the job I currently have in KC, MO has gone south and after evaluating things out here I am ready to move on and find something in a different city. I have some friends and family in St. Louis and Austin so I’m hoping to find something in those cities that will allow me to be closer to them.

My background is in Industrial and Interaction Design so I’m looking for a job that will let me work on things like websites, motion graphics, 3D models, user interfaces, etc. I’m not really into product design but if there are good opportunities I will definately look into them.

If anyone has an opinion on this I would appreciate it.

I can’t speak to St. Louis, but I have a few friends who live and work in Austin and there seems to be lots of places to work. Dell keeps most of the product firms pretty busy. Design Edge, M3, and ID-one are all focused mostly on ID but I think they all do a bit of everything. Frog has a big digital design office there as well. At least that’s what I think that office focuses on. I noticed these guys have an opening for UI/Visual designers right now too…

Plus the music scene is killer if that’s your thing…

Definitely goto Austin…absolutely great place to live! Killer nightlife, good weather (if you don’t mind 100+ degree summers!) and tons of outdoor activities. It’s also fairly affordable, all things considered.