Job Hunting with a Lacklustre Portfolio?

Hi all,
I graduated from university in September last year after studying BA Product Design and I am looking to move into full time employment. And looking for some advice. We are now in March and it seems like it has been a long road, with not that much to show for it. When I left university in June I was able to quickly get myself an internship for 6 weeks over the summer. Apart from a freelance / work experience exhibition design project which started in December that is rumbling along at quite a slow pace, there has not been much work to draw experience from.

After discovering these boards around a month ago I have been soaking up as much information and perspective as I can. I have redone my CV according to a fantastic post I found about graduate employment and taken great steps in understanding what kind of portfolios stand out to a hiring manager.

In doing so however, I have come to the following conclusions

1. I have been running around like a headless chicken with no real focus - doing one thing one day and then another thing the next day, jumping from trying to better my portfolio to applying for jobs with no real expectation that i will get a response, never mind a call up for a interview.

2. After benchmarking myself against people on coroflot, behance and these boards, globally. My portfolio is average, at best. I feel like i have strong ideas that turn into products that i am proud of, and can deliver the same strong ideas in employment but my sketching and ability to visually demonstrate my processes and skills is lacking.

With this realisation I have got some focus. I have collected examples of sketch styles that are at the level I want to be at, along with some books and I am going to sketch sketch sketch on self directed briefs until I’m proud to put the work in my portfolio and I am able to back sketch some existing projects to demonstrate the process.