Job change during economic uncertainty

So, Ive been working for this company for two years now (right out of college). 10 months of which I was the only Industrial designer for the brand. The people are great, the pay is good but the work itself isn’t what I really want it to be. I’ve written proposals to try and start strategic design within the company as well as locate design opportunities. None of which is really being received well. Going ahead and just doing stuff is actually frowned upon because it entails going to stores and researching and upper management sees this as promising solutions that we may not be able to achieve.

My question basically boils down to a job change. Does this seem like a good idea at this point in time? The economy is visibly shaky and I am currently under a large corporate umbrella. I’ve spoken with recruiters and there are jobs to be had at other companies none of which are as large as the company I am at currently. Moving to a large company isn’t necessarily a criteria at all, they are just much more stable during economic strife.

Any thoughts?

1. There is no such thing as job security anymore.
  2. Don’t leave your job without another one to go to…not these days, at least.
  3. Go after what you think is best for you and don’t settle for less.

amen

That makes sense. But you honestly don’t think there is any such thing as job security anymore? Maybe I’m being naive or green but I feel like its pretty secure here. Then again I guess that they just assume get rid of me than continue to pay for a service they don;t think they need anymore.

Nope, I really don’t.

You never know how deep a recession can cut. Layoffs are quite often arbitrary. Not based on performance of the individual, but performance of the group.

I have survived 2 rounds of layoffs and got hit by one. All three times it was a quick scalpel cut of 50 or so people with no regard to their skill/talent.

Well,