Job advice after graduation

Hello all,
I graduated from Academy of Art University in 2017 with a bachelors degree in Transportation design. Since then, I’ve had a difficult time finding any type of entry level industrial design job. I have used my schools career department, different job boards and even local job postings in my area to try and get a job. I’ve gotten a handful of responses but nothing beyond that. My passion is in car design primarily exterior. However I enjoy designing, tinkering and researching just about all products. My question to the forum is…should I continue to pursue an automotive design career or focus on creating a solid product design portfolio in hopes of making some better connections and landing a product design job?

Please take a look at my portfolio in my signature and let me know your honest advice. I would really appreciate any feedback and or suggestions on how to make my portfolio better.

Hi Robert,

I don’t have much knowledge of transportation portfolios but heres my 2c.

Your sketching looks good. You have a lot of projects but most don’t have any real design process. The ones that do are buried down the page, so it might be worth moving them higher up. Do you have any projects that go deeper than a sketch and render?

What location are you in? Transportation Design is very niche and that could be a factor as well.

Hi AndyMc,

Thank you. The design process is something I also feel is missing with my work. From your perspective is it a lack of visual sketch process flow? Or missing story and reasoning for the car design I chose?

For the 3 main projects I completed I have sketches, final renders and 1/5 scale clay models. The BMW i3 Interior design I did includes a 1:1 full scale interior. I worked with a group of 3 people. I did the center console, my friend did the dash and another classmate did some cosmetic styling.