Jersey and NYC- Design, Transport, and the financial quest

Simple questions… I’d love your input.

If one is working in Manhattan, what are the ups and downs of living in Manhattan vs commuting from New Jersey. Is it worth it? Would it be better to live in the city? How long would it take to get to Penn Station from Princeton?

Also,in terms of $$… NYC is so expensive, and worth it for sure (to many anyway)… Can anyone give input in that area? Is it possible to stay afloat? I hear firms don’t match the increase in cost of living in New York bc they claim just living in NYC is a perk. With the cost of living in the city and or the cost of commuting is

I know this is all very broad, but I would be interested to know whatever you’ve got around the subject!

Thank you!

Firstly, let me start by saying that I’m just a student, but I’ve lived in the area my whole life, so I know a little something.

Many people do in fact commute from NJ to the city. One downside is that you need to pay a city tax (dont know the exact term), which basically taxes you for working in the city and living in NJ, so you might want to take that into consideration.

IMO, living in Princeton is too far of a commute, although I’m sure people do it. The train does go to Princeton, but it would be a pretty long ride (about 90 minutes). Alternatively you could also drive, but that would also be a pretyt long commute. Also, Princeton and the surrounding area is pretty expensive as well, so in the long run you might not be saving money.