Is the Eames Lounge and Ottoman really that great

I happen to work in a retail position where we have an Eames Lounge and Ottoman (the chair with big leather cushions with wood shell) right in the front entrance for everyone to try. It’s the licensed version from Herman Miller so it’s true to spec, but it never ceases to amaze me at home many people think it’s uncomfortable.
“Where’s the headrest?”,
“How do I get it to tilt less?”,
“how do I change the height?” are just a few of the questions we/I get on a daily basis when people try the chair. I studied Industrial Design and furniture and was always taught that this was the quintisencial lounge chair. After gauging customer’s responses to it, I now think otherwise. I can honestly say (trust me I’ve actually kept track on several days) that 8 out of 10 people do not find the Eames lounge chair comfortable at all for legitimate reasons. I agree that in it’s day (1950’s) it was a ground breaking piece of furniture but for the Santos Palisander version to command a tag of $4,200 today, that is almost unreasonable compared to today’s standard of louge chairs. Not only that, but the chair doesn’t change and the price increase $100 every year due to Eames Office licensing and HM fees and such…
Now I know you are all going to reply with “I love that chair!!” “It’s the most comfortable chair in the world by far!” " It is such a handsome chair" " It’s the best lounge chair ever!" … But if 8 out of 10 people don’t find it comfortable, that chair does not qualify as a success in my mind.

• If your 5’10" or taller, you won’t have head support
  • If your 5’5" or shorter, your knees will hit the front of the seat wood and probably not touch the ground.
  • If your older or have arthritis, you’ll never get out of the chair that sits only 14 inches off the ground
  • The leather is pretty poor quality by comparison. (I’ve had professional leather training by a 3rd party company)