Is my portofolio good enough for ID?

For a start I am in my final year of BSc. mechanical engineering and have had no training in art or design(except the engineering side). I started playing around with photoshop about an year back to acquire whatever skills I presently have and have created the following:

EDIT: new link http://www.flickr.com/photos/ninja_monkey_with_pom_pom/sets/72157594561193177/

Is this + my work from engineering design courses and little bit of 3-D modelling good enough for an application for Masters in ID ? Will I really have a chance to get into a good Design School in Europe? Or should I take a years break and work more on my portfolio?

NoteMost colleges do accept the fact that someone from an engineering background won’t have an orthodox portfolio.

sorry I ask too many questions :astonished:

Any comments are highly appreciated.

Cheers :slight_smile:

Link does not open.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ninja_monkey_with_pom_pom/sets/72157594561193177/

sorry try this

I kind of went the other route than you took. I didn’t get a formal education in Engineering. I interned and worked summer jobs at engineering firms to get that kind of background.

As for getting into grad schools with a mech degree…I can’t speak to that at all. I have zero experience/exposure to that kind of degree.

Your portfolio you showed definitely shows that you have an eye for the graphic arts side of the process.

Its easy to provide opinions about your life and what you do…so I will go ahead and do that :wink:

If you can’t take the time for a full ID undergrad program, I wouldn’t look at the Masters in ID. The majority of value to ID is in the undergrad program. I would imagine that you should be able to enter an ID program in the 2nd or 3rd year and be able to augment your technical degree. Take continuing education classes. Try and get a job at an ID design house as the Mechanical Engineer/CAD jockey. My $0.02 is to not go for the grad degree.