Is it too late to make the transition?

I studied Product Design and graduated last year. Although some projects we worked on were a bit dull I did enjoy the course especially after I was able to get my hands “dirty” (working on models, presentations etc.)

Due to our family business in interior design and me helping out a lot during the last 5 years I feel I have somehow gradually been pushed into this field without really wanting it. Now most of my resume reeds interior and partially graphic design.

I was wondering whether it is too late to make the transition back to product design? What are the best ways of doing so? Going to grad school just to get contacts? Working on my own projects? Even if I do that I will still lack experience in this field. And from what I’ve seen so far - no real world experience means no job. I’m also not sure whether I can afford an internship especially if it’s unpaid.

Any suggestions?

That’s a tough one. There are a few roads you can go that might work.

Grad School (more costly than that unpaid internship though)

Internship

Freelance- try to pick up anything product related freelance

Family Business- take advantage of this as an asset rather than a restraint. Do you best to work in product design wherever you can. Design some custom tableware, ceramics, or furniture for a clients space. Pitch it and see if they go for it and farm out the custom production to build a portfolio.

What school did you goto?