is it really that bad?

I’ve been reading posts on this side for quite a while now and I can’t help but wonder whether it really is that bad out there. Maybe I have chosen the wrong profession. I’m not sure. Maybe it’s too early to tell.

I graduated a year ago and I’ve been working at a job that does hardly anything except paying bills. I studied Product Design as one designer told me that it’s the broadest education within the design field and that it would leave me with many career choices. Even during college I had times when I liked it a lot and times when I was about to quit to study something entirely else. Now reading and experiencing it myself how difficult it is to really get that fulfilling design job I can’t help but getting a bit depressed here.

People and even tutors have been telling me all life long that I’m very talented. Maybe that’s the reason why I’m sticking to it. Now I’m going to move to Sweden in September, not sure whether the design business will be any better there (I’m moving because my boyfriend is Swedish and a change of scenery might do me good).

How much passion does a designer need to be succesful? How much talent? Or is it just something that comes with time and working the job?
Is there anyone who experienced similar feelings and thoughts?