IS A DEGREE THE ONLY WAY TO BECOME A "DESIGNER"

Hi Guys,

ok, Im planning a career change to product design, im 27 years old and what I do right now has nothing to do with design, yes when I was younger i studied design for one year, summer at RISD ECT…
I FEEL OLD AT THE FACT ILL GRADUATE AT30 -31! then how long until I get a job ect -will I be “past it” with the up and coming younger guys?

so I ask, is there any way I can “break into” design without the basics of a degree :open_mouth: I am so passionate about this subject.

also, this summer im trying to find experience in a company doing anything, any ideas where to statr looking?

regards
Dave.

Dude get real… I am 29 and barely sophmore in ID. Tell me what better things you have to do in your life? Where are you going in such a hurry? I am an interior design graduate… hey guess what… I thought I knew about design, at least some… WRONG!!! Not even close! GO TO SCHOOL!

Go to school! Let them give you tools to dig out that bug that’s in you. This overwhelming desire to be a designer that’s in you but if you don’t feel it don’t do it.

Unless you go under the wing of some good designer you will only dream of ID and design land fill and still then you will only get one man/woman’s point of view.

Just please tell me you’re not the person who posted on core about going to China to get on job ID skills. Not to rip on Chinese design but it’s still developing and it will take a while, just hard to say when. Probably when China becomes world’s superpower but that’s a different post.

GOOD LUCK WHATEVER YOU DO MAN!
(think about it you will have two years on me if you do it)

Tony Hardman became a shoe designer an has had alot of success an he didn’t finish/ school check out about him at this link-

http://kicksguide.com/articles/featured/tony-hardman/tony-hardman-just-do-it.asp

school is a great option, from there you might decide that product isnt what you want either, its a great place to grow an learn.

good luck