Is 3D required as a prerequisite?

I am a recent graduate from ID. In my Bachelor’s program 3D was not taught as a subject. It was overridden because they teach the philosophy that there will be other designer or technicians to do the cad or alias work that I am unable to do. However, I feel that in my education it has been the one component I feel is lacking. Granted they said if your hired for a Jr. position I would end up working as a CAD monkey and it would lead nowhere, I can’t help but feel that I won’t get a job because I lack that skill.

I can visually communicate pretty well, and I can illustrate well, as well as work with my hands creating models. This, however is an industry standard that skill that I feel I am lacking in landing a good starting job. I know my portfolio of work is strong, but 3D work would guarantee me a job in this competitive industry.

Can someone help me with with my predicament?

Funny enough, even my thesis project 3D work was directed by me, but done by people I paid to do the work. Had they not been there I would have done it myself.

There are many industries that do not use 3D extensively. Footwear, eyewear, watch design, leather/accessories design do not normally rely on 3D CAD from designers. Some companies in ‘regular’ ID may have in-house engineers/modelers so they don’t require you to know them. Some places will train you.

My advice would be to put your best foot forward, apply to places that dont require extensive 3D skills or will train you, OR pick up a program and learn on your own (or take a 3D class at a college).

I think you can start looking for a job, while you learn 3D. In this economy, you may have plenty of time to get good at it :stuck_out_tongue:

Fascinating! This is the first time I’ve ever heard that. Is this representative of the philosophy of your instructors? How much did this cost?