iPhone concept

Hey everyone, nice to meet you. I’m an aspiring graphic artist and industrial designer. I know my work isn’t the best out there (I’m no Andrew Kim) but I thought I’d post what I’ve been working on. But first, a short bio!

Brye Kobayashi
Applications: Photoshop CS4

This is the concept: edge to edge strengthened glass, textured aluminum on the rear with a back poly-caobonate band that runs around the top for the antenna (no more “antennagate”!), and upgraded 8 megapixel camera with an LED flash. The front also sports a new HD FaceTime camera with 720p recording. I also loathe the lack of a LED notifier, it’s one of the things I miss from my Droid Eris. So, the way to fix this without sacrificing design of functionality is to micro-perferate the On/Off switch and place an LED light inside it (sort of the same concept of the MacBook Pro’s LED notifier).

Here it is in white.

This is the top and bottom. I wanted to figure out a way to add another speaker for stereoscopic sound, so, given the extra space on top, another speaker could theoretically be placed there. This design would also would slim the iPhone down to a mere 6.5mm thin, making it one of the thinest phones out there.

I know my skills are pretty mediocre at best, but I’d love to know your thoughts. I’ve got a lot to learn, so please, any tips, criticism, or suggestions are appreciated.

I wouldn’t worry about the skills (I mean a little, always room to improve, but you are showing the idea and that is the point.

A few things to think about:

1. most phones have multiple antennas, and they can’t be stacked and may have to be on opposite ends of the phone for reception… having the plastic on one end does not solve for the antenna transparency issue, you may ant to adjust or have bands at both ends.
  2. our of curiosity, why no 3d camera?
  3. the aspect ratio of the screen seems different? Is that so and if so why?