investigating the design industry

I am interested in changing careers to ID. I have no experience in it and a Bachelors degree in Business and have worked in business for the last several years as an account manager. I do realize that without the training I can not get an ID job, but would still like to get involved on a paid basis to get the full feel of the industry. What recommendation do you have? What jobs are there in the design firms that I can get which would get me close enough to see if this is what I really want to do?

Well, first of all, you have to build ur portfolio. Just like in business, you can always freelance if your really good. Your business degree will really come in handy in this industry bc of you look at the frog design company(their called something like that), they know how to market. Most of their work is done for disney and most of their designs are advertising driven. I’m guessing you know how to draw so the next best thing would be to get drafting books, autocad books, and other rendering books that work with computer software. Many small architecture design firms always have autocad positions and many of them just look to see if you have a degree of any kind, could atleast get ur foot in the door. Industrial designers wear many hats. I don’t know where your located but its not to rare to get a little tour of a design firm. They’ll give you lots of tips and maybe get u a good friendship with them. It’s all about who you know. That’s all i can think of right now. Hope this helps you.

thanks. all advice is welcome.