Internships: should i be a ID student in college.

Do companies give internships only to college students of ID?
What kind of skills do they look for in an applicant.
It’d be nice if someone could demysitify internships for me, what work do
you do… is it a process of absorbing your education by seeing how
professionals work, or do you contribute to the design process of a product
too.

…not sure why i would award an internship to a non-id student but i am sure that internships vary…i usually recruited interns at idsa conventions…typically, i gave them three projects; one product design with a senior designer, one research project with a marketing intern and one project of thier own choice, which they had to take to prototype…at the end, they wrote a resume, put a portfolio together, interviewed for a hypothetical job and were given constructive crits…they were paid for thier work because they contributed to process and products.

i am a final year student of HS, with my chosen group of subjects being science + C.Sc (C++ etc)

i just thought it would be a great idea to work on the rendering bit that you learn in an id college course by myself, over the three - four years, develop my skills, and in the meanwhile study engineering. i thought i could get a better approach to design if i come from the engineering side, but i develop my designing / rendering skills in parallel. but industry authentication is the best authentication, so i wonder: will you give a non-id student with designing skills an internship.

will that be enough to get a job in design.

now i feel why go to so much trouble, might as well just go the conventional way, and get an ID degree.

as